Fourteen receive recognition in the 17th Annual Aboriginal Achievement Awards

(Page 2 of 2)

Environment & Natural Resources:  Iriquiox Six Nation's, Danny Beaton is a traditional lands preservationist who's worked and defended with the people from the amazon rainforest, Northern Cree, Inuit; winning the Governor General's Medal in 1992, for his outstanding contributions to his fellow Canadians.

Health:  Kehewin nation's, Madeline Dion Stout BN, MA & PhD is a leader in first nations health serving on several boards and committees, won the Canadian Nurses Association Centennial Award in 2008 and received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of British Columbia.

Law & Justice:  Kawacatoose nation, Donald Worme is a founding member of the Indigenous Bar Association of Canada, chief council to the residential schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission, a criminal and treaty litigation lawyer.

Media & Communications:  Kanawake nation's, Kenneth Atsenhaienton is the publisher & editor of The Eastern Door, Chair of the U.N. Workshop on Indigenous Media, participating in the U.N. Working Groups on Indigenous Populations and has also been a high school principal, school councilor and political activist.

Politics:  Cross Lake Cree Nation's, Hon. Eric William Robinson is the Deputy Premier and Minister for the Dept. of Indian and Northern Affairs in the province of Manitoba. He is also the author of the book Infested Blankets: Canada's Constitution – Genocide of Indian Nations.

Public Service:  Algonquin nation's Edith Cloutier has been the executive director of the Val-d'Or Friendship Center for 20 years and the first Chair of the UQAT Board of Directors, President of the RCAAQ & Knight in the National Order of Quebec.

Sports:  Langley BC's, Monica Pinnette is a pentathlete (shooting, fencing, swimming, show jumping & cross-country running) who is the only aboriginal athlete to compete in both Athens 2004 and 2008's Beijing Games. She also holds a Silver Medal in the 2007 Pan Am Games.

Technology & Trade:  Ojibwey/Aamjiwnaang nation's, Doug Henry is president and owner of NATSCO Ltd. & NATSCO Mechanical Contractors Inc offering employment to his and surrounding communities. A true industry leader, he emphasizes aboriginal values in the workplace as well as a leader and winner of health & safety awards

Further information on educational bursary & scholarship opportunities, award nomination process & nomination form, award recipients and their contributions to the aboriginal community, can be found at the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation's website:



phone: 1800-329-9780



write to:

National Aboriginal Awards Foundation

PO Box 759, 2160 Fourth Line

Ohsweken, Ontario N0A 1M0


or contact


Rachel Hill

Education Analyst

1-800-329-9780: ext. 020

fax: 1-519-445-0067

email: [email protected] also [email protected]



More in Canada

The joy of giving

Science is now providing the evidence for what we have long held to be true: that it is better to give than to receive.

Amazing photos of September in Vancouver

Take a look back at September captured through the lenses of our VO Flickr Pool contributors.

A young Iranian helps Syrian refugees adjust to Canada

A young Iranian, himself, new to Canada reaches out to help Syrian refugees settle here. But with the war in Syria, tensions between Iranians and Syrians are rising. How will he succeed?
Speak up about this article on Facebook or Twitter. Do this by liking Vancouver Observer on Facebook or following us @Vanobserver on Twitter. We'd love to hear from you.