Photo's: Brittany Howard debuts her solo album Jaime

Photography by Craig Fleisch

This week Brittany Howard took the stage at the Commodore Ballroom. Howard is known famously by her lead vocals of the Grammy award-winning band Alabama Shakes. The band hasn't released an album since 2015 but for good reason. Howard has been hard at work on her debut solo album #jamie, released earlier this year. The album is named after her sister Jaime who died as a teenager. “She was a musician too,” Howard says. “I did this so her name would no longer bring me memories of sadness and as a way to thank her for passing on to me everything she loved: music, art, creativity.”

Her soulful vocals and impassioned electric guitar playing along with her talent eight-piece band were mesmerizing to watch. She performed all new songs including a few well-known covers from other famous musicians such as Prince, Jackie Wilson and The Beatles. 

Follow @blackfootwhitefoot or visit for more information on her upcoming North American tour dates.


Brittany Howard Setlist (Commodore Ballroom, Tuesday, November 19, 2019)

  1. He Loves Me
  2. Georgia
  3. Stay High
  4. Presence
  5. The Breakdown
  6. Tomorrow
  7. Short & Sweet
  8. You're What I'm All About
  9. Higher & Higher
  10. Baby
  11. Goat Head
  12. 13th Century


  1. Bring Your Love To Me
  2. Revolution
  3. History Repeats
  4. Run To Me

More in Music

Photos: Half Moon Run heats up Snowy Vancouver

This week Half Moon Run played Vancouver's Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Many were unsure whether the Vancouver fans would brave the unusually cold and snowy conditions but I was pleasantly surprised to...

Eddas, Elegies & Epics, à la mode

Benjamin Bagby and Sequentia bring medieval spells, songs and stories to EMV

Comfort ye....

Ivars Taurins leads local Cantata Singers and Baroque Orchestra in EMV's "Messiah"
Speak up about this article on Facebook or Twitter. Do this by liking Vancouver Observer on Facebook or following us @Vanobserver on Twitter. We'd love to hear from you.