This summer's hottest releases from Sony Music

Can this summer get much hotter than Christina Aguilera in this promotional shot taken for 'Bionic'?


June 8th - Christina Aguilera - Bionic 

Christina Aguilera has been hard at work in the studio over the past year and is pleased to announce the release of her highly anticipated 4th studio album Bionic. The album features songs co-written by Aguilera along with collaborators including Sia, Tricky Stewart, Polow Da Don, Le Tigre, Hill & Switch and Ladytron among others. Aguilera notes,"The artists I chose to work with added so many unique sonic layers to Bionic. My intention was to step into their world and what they do combined with my own vision and sound." The album also features a ballad produced and written by Linda Perry titled 'Lift Me Up'. The title 'Bionic' reflects Aguilera’s ability to take her range to new levels and use her voice in ways never heard before. 


June 15th - Sarah McLachlan - The Laws of Illusion 

Sarah is scheduled to release her first studio album of new material in 7 years, 'Laws of Illusion' on June 15th. The album was recorded in Montreal and Vancouver with Sarah’s longtime collaborator and producer Pierre Marchand. The album’s first single 'Loving You is Easy' is available for sale now on iTunes Canada. The physical edition  Laws of Illusion: Live In-Studio Performance  includes a bonus DVD with performances of 5 new album tracks and interviews with McLachlan. A special pre-order campaign for Sarah’s new album is available now at Fans that pre-order her new album will be offered the added benefit of exclusive access to purchase 2010 Lilith Tour tickets before they are made available anywhere else and additionally will receive an instant download of Sarah’s new song, 'One Dream.'


June 15th - Oasis - Time Flies... 1994-2009

'Time Flies' is the complete singles collection celebrating the work of  Oasis from start to finish. The songs that comprise this album span fifteen glorious years walked tall alongside a staggering seven consecutive UK number one albums. 1994’s 'Definitely Maybe', 1995’s '(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?', 1997’s 'Be Here Now', 2000’s 'Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants', 2002’s 'Heathen Chemistry', 2005’s 'Don’t Believe The Truth' and their last from 2008, 'Dig Out Your Soul'. The deluxe version of 'Time Flies' features a DVD of all 36 videos ever made (all previously unreleased) including versions made for the UK and America, as well as the last ever recorded Oasis live show from The Roundhouse in London, which took place on July 21st, 2009.


June 15th - Ozzy Osbourne - SCREAM

Produced by OZZY and Kevin Churko, the same team as for Black Rain. The album will feature the first single 'Let Me Hear You Scream.' The multi-platinum, Grammy Award-winning, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer recorded most of 'SCREAM' at his Los Angeles home studio, The Bunker, and co-wrote all the songs, primarily with Churko. Notably, the album marks the first appearance of OZZY’s new guitar player, Gus G. OZZY’s band also features bassist Blasko, drummer Tommy Clufetos and keyboardist Adam Wakeman. In addition to 'Let Me Hear You Scream,' the album’s confirmed tracks are: 'Diggin Me Down,' 'Let It Die,' 'Soul Sucker,' 'Fearless,' 'I Want It All,' 'Time,' 'Crucify' and 'I Love You All.' OZZY will also embark on an 18-month world tour (dates TBA) in support of 'SCREAM.'


June 22nd - Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band - London Calling: Live in Hyde Park 

More in IndieVan

Okkervil River's only Canadian show to be in Vancouver, this tour

Okkervil River is playing exclusively in Vancouver.

Photo gallery: David Guetta, party of 6000

Photo gallery of David Guetta in Vancouver.
Speak up about this article on Facebook or Twitter. Do this by liking Vancouver Observer on Facebook or following us @Vanobserver on Twitter. We'd love to hear from you.